Bengaluru · Independent public-source guide

Your public-service journey journey

Independent research snapshot · checked 2026-09-06 · Map status: Partially mapped · 0 of 2 routes fully researched

Follow the published route for public-service journey, the places it can stall, and the questions the available public record does not answer.

Key terms
BPAS
Building Plan Approval System, the public Greater Bengaluru Authority construction-permit portal.
e-Khata
The municipal digital property record that BPAS says is mandatory for occupancy-certificate applications.
Schedule VIII
The form the BBMP service sheet names for an occupancy-certificate request.
Compounding Fee
The charge named in the service sheet when the published procedure issues a demand note, without an amount on that sheet.
As-built drawings
Drawings of completed construction listed among occupancy-certificate enclosures.
How this usually works

A property owner with plan sanction can use the published occupancy-certificate route, which names Schedule VIII, Khata records, tax receipt, as-built drawings and photographs as enclosures. The service sheet describes online filing, inspection, verification, a demand note where applicable and certificate issue; BPAS also says e-Khata is mandatory. This desk research used public pages only; no login, submission, payment or personal data was used.

Find my path

The atlas’s central finding

What nobody has documented

These are unresolved steps and problems that can leave a citizen stuck because no usable public procedure was found. Routine empty fields and internal research notes are not counted.

    How to read this pageA status tells you how much of a step is publicly supported. A letter tells you what kind of source supports it.
    verifiedSupported by evidence at the stated grade
    partialSome of this record is supported; important gaps remain
    contestedSources or observed states disagree
    unknownNo usable source yet; do not infer the answer
    ABinding ruleBCurrent official sourceCOfficial but incomplete or olderDAttributable secondary sourceECitizen evidenceFUncorroborated leadUnknownNo usable source

    01 · Start here

    Which of these is you?

    Choose the closest match. Everything below updates for the path you pick.

    Occupancy certificate for a sanctioned residential building · 0 of 2 records researched

    02 · Trace the records

    The records that need to line up for your public-service journey

    Choose a record to see what it must show, how you can check it, what can go wrong, and which public sources support the explanation.

    needs

    You’re looking at: Final e-Khata — a official record held by Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP)

    Final e-Khata

    Cross-ledger prerequisite represented by the existing khata ledger node ID node_final_e_khata.

    What this must say before your next step can work

    A current e-Khata is mandatory before an Occupancy Certificate application under the public BPAS notice.

    Check

    How can I check it?

    e-Khata prerequisite
    verified

    The BPAS public notice identifies e-Khata as mandatory for Occupancy Certificate applications from 1 July 2025.

    Open linked check ↗
    COfficial but incomplete or olderverified

    The public BPAS landing page states that e-Khata is mandatory for Occupancy Certificate applications from 1 July 2025.

    Read directly in a sourceBengaluru, Karnataka, India (GBA BPAS)

    The public notice is date-specific and does not state how an e-Khata is obtained. It is retained as a Grade C General-site reference, not a substituted specific source.

    Failure

    What does failure look like?

    Not yet researched.

    Recovery

    What can I do next?

    Not yet researched.

    Where this comes from

    Every statement above, with its source and how strong that source is

    Show the sources for this record
    COfficial but incomplete or olderverified

    The public BPAS landing page states that e-Khata is mandatory for Occupancy Certificate applications from 1 July 2025.

    Read directly in a sourceBengaluru, Karnataka, India (GBA BPAS)

    The public notice is date-specific and does not state how an e-Khata is obtained. It is retained as a Grade C General-site reference, not a substituted specific source.

    How one step leads to the next

    What has to happen before the next step

    These links show how the available sources connect the records for this situation. A dashed card means the link comes from citizen reports or has no published official procedure.

    needsverified
    Final e-KhataPublic service route

    BPAS names e-Khata as mandatory for Occupancy Certificate applications.

    COfficial but incomplete or older

    04 · What goes wrong, and why

    Problems found in the public route

    0 researched problems are linked to this path. Conflicting accounts stay visible so a generic error can be traced back to the record that may be causing it.

    No roadblocks match this filter. That does not mean the path is clear.

    05 · Check our sources

    Sources for Occupancy certificate for a sanctioned residential building

    The letter shows source strength, not whether a statement will apply to every case.

    Show the sources
    BCurrent official sourceverified

    The BPAS Occupancy Certificate User Manual says that, after final submission, the proposal moves from Draft to In Process and the architect can check the proposal flow to see which officer holds the file.

    Read directly in a sourceBengaluru, Karnataka, India (BBMP BPAS)

    The manual documents an authenticated architect-console surface. This pass did not log in or verify live availability.

    COfficial but incomplete or olderverified

    The public BPAS landing page states that e-Khata is mandatory for Occupancy Certificate applications from 1 July 2025.

    Read directly in a sourceBengaluru, Karnataka, India (GBA BPAS)

    The public notice is date-specific and does not state how an e-Khata is obtained. It is retained as a Grade C General-site reference, not a substituted specific source.

    BCurrent official sourceverified

    The BPAS public Download & Manuals route lists a User Manual for OC and public forms/checklists including a plan-sanction checklist, affidavits, bonds, Schedule-II and Schedule-III; it notes that affidavits and bonds should be on stamp paper.

    Read directly in a sourceBengaluru, Karnataka, India
    BCurrent official sourceverified

    The official BPAS FAQ says an Occupancy Certificate/Building Completion Certificate application is submitted online by a Licensed Surveyor or Architect after building completion, with a request for joint site inspection and compliance of OCC/BCC conditions.

    Read directly in a sourceBengaluru, Karnataka, India
    BCurrent official sourceverified

    The official BPAS FAQ states that Part/Full OCC/BCC is granted within 7 working days after the OC/BCC application when the required documents are submitted and the work is executed as approved.

    Read directly in a sourceBengaluru, Karnataka, India
    BCurrent official sourceverified

    The official BPAS FAQ describes authenticated dashboard steps for viewing OCC/BCC status and certificate output through the approved OCC/BCC entry, Application Summary and Proposal Stages certificate column.

    Read directly in a sourceBengaluru, Karnataka, India

    What official documentation exists — and where it stops

    What official documentation exists — and where it stops

    8 documents · 2 general references · 2 citizen accounts · 0 missing procedures. Sources are grouped by specificity: each URL appears once; general references are starting points, and citizen accounts are reported experience.

    Show the sources

    Specific documents

    8
    Issue of Occupancy CertificateBruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP), as displayed in the document · accessed 2026-09-06 · Grade B

    What it covers: A specific public document or page used to support this entry.

    Cited for: The BBMP service sheet says that any property owner in the BBMP jurisdiction who has obtained plan sanction is eligible for this occupancy-certificate service. · The BBMP service sheet names Schedule VIII as the form to be submitted for the occupancy-certificate service. · +15 more statements

    Where it stops: Official service sheet for the Town Planning Section, Head Office. No visible publication date was established from the accessed search rendering; use as current-hosted official guidance with that limitation. Wayback Save Page returned HTTP 523 on the first attempt and HTTP 429 on a retry; no snapshot URL was returned. The live official URL remains the citation; no archive substitute is claimed.

    Occupancy Certificate User Manual for BBMPBruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP), as displayed in the document · accessed 2026-09-06 · Grade B

    What it covers: A specific public document or page used to support this entry.

    Cited for: The BPAS Occupancy Certificate User Manual says that, after final submission, the proposal moves from Draft to In Process and the architect can check the proposal flow to see which officer holds the file.

    Where it stops: The document revision history displays version 1.0.20 dated 2024-01-20. It is an authenticated-portal user manual; its screen-level instructions describe the official workflow but were not exercised in this pass. Wayback snapshot: https://web.archive.org/web/20260905185713/https://bpas.bbmpgov.in/BPAMSClient4/Downloads/OCManual.pdf Wayback Save Page returned a 302 redirect to this snapshot.

    Greater Bengaluru Authority — BPAS homeoccupancy-certificate · accessed 2026-09-05 · Grade B

    What it covers: A specific public document or page used to support this entry.

    Cited for: The current BPAS public home identifies itself as Greater Bengaluru Authority and describes a single-window construction-permit system for Bengaluru. · The BPAS public home exposes a Sign In form with username, password, CAPTCHA-code input and a login submit control; this pass stops before authentication and case data.

    Where it stops: Audit limitation: no Wayback snapshot URL, archive-capture failure, publication-date limitation, or source-level jurisdiction is recorded for this public observation.

    BPAS Download & Manualsoccupancy-certificate · accessed 2026-09-05 · Grade B

    What it covers: A specific public document or page used to support this entry.

    Cited for: The BPAS public Download & Manuals route lists a User Manual for OC and public forms/checklists including a plan-sanction checklist, affidavits, bonds, Schedule-II and Schedule-III; it notes that affidavits and bonds should be on stamp paper.

    Where it stops: Audit limitation: no Wayback snapshot URL, archive-capture failure, publication-date limitation, or source-level jurisdiction is recorded for this public observation.

    BPAS FAQsoccupancy-certificate · accessed 2026-09-05 · Grade B

    What it covers: A specific public document or page used to support this entry.

    Cited for: The official BPAS FAQ says an Occupancy Certificate/Building Completion Certificate application is submitted online by a Licensed Surveyor or Architect after building completion, with a request for joint site inspection and compliance of OCC/BCC conditions. · The official BPAS FAQ states that Part/Full OCC/BCC is granted within 7 working days after the OC/BCC application when the required documents are submitted and the work is executed as approved. · +1 more statements

    Where it stops: Audit limitation: no Wayback snapshot URL, archive-capture failure, publication-date limitation, or source-level jurisdiction is recorded for this public observation.

    Greater Bengaluru Authority Helpdesk — Knowledge baseoccupancy-certificate · accessed 2026-09-05 · Grade B

    What it covers: A specific public document or page used to support this entry.

    Cited for: BPAS exposes a public Helpdesk Knowledge base and a public Contact Us route as support surfaces; no case-specific recovery result was tested.

    Where it stops: Audit limitation: no Wayback snapshot URL, archive-capture failure, publication-date limitation, or source-level jurisdiction is recorded for this public observation.

    BPAS Contact Usoccupancy-certificate · accessed 2026-09-05 · Grade B

    What it covers: A specific public document or page used to support this entry.

    Cited for: BPAS exposes a public Helpdesk Knowledge base and a public Contact Us route as support surfaces; no case-specific recovery result was tested.

    Where it stops: Audit limitation: no Wayback snapshot URL, archive-capture failure, publication-date limitation, or source-level jurisdiction is recorded for this public observation.

    BBMP Building Plan Approval — supplied legacy seedoccupancy-certificate · accessed 2026-09-05 · Grade B

    What it covers: A specific public document or page used to support this entry.

    Cited for: The supplied site.bbmp.gov.in/buildingplan.html route was not live at access time and returned a browser ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED observation; its older indexed content is not current workflow evidence.

    Where it stops: Audit limitation: no Wayback snapshot URL, archive-capture failure, publication-date limitation, or source-level jurisdiction is recorded for this inaccessible public route.

    General references

    2
    Greater Bengaluru Authority — BPAS seedoccupancy-certificate · accessed 2026-09-06 · Grade C

    General reference: This is a starting point, not a source specific to one step.

    Cited for: The public BPAS landing page states that e-Khata is mandatory for Occupancy Certificate applications from 1 July 2025.

    Where it stops: Audit limitation: no Wayback snapshot URL, archive-capture failure, publication-date limitation, or source-level jurisdiction is recorded for this public observation.

    General-site reference — Greater Bengaluru Authority supplied BBMP seedoccupancy-certificate · accessed 2026-09-05 · Grade C

    General reference: This is a starting point, not a source specific to one step.

    Cited for: The current bbmp.gov.in/home page exposes a Building Permission e-Service tile, but the public DOM observation did not expose a target URL; no link to BPAS is asserted.

    Where it stops: Audit limitation: no Wayback snapshot URL, archive-capture failure, publication-date limitation, or source-level jurisdiction is recorded for this public observation.

    Citizen accounts

    2
    Occupancy certificate delaysReddit / r/Bengaluru · accessed 2026-09-05 · Grade E

    Reported experience: This is a public first-person account, not an official document.

    Cited for: A residential purchaser reported that an occupancy certificate was received after an earlier reported delay. · A residential purchaser reported being told that an occupancy-certificate application had been made, while the certificate remained unissued several months later.

    Where it stops: A Wayback retrieval attempt on 2026-09-05 was blocked by the research browser's URL-safety control; no snapshot is represented as captured. No author handles, project/developer names, locality names, contact details, or other property-identifying details are reproduced in this next step.

    Khata Bifurcation in ApartmentReddit / r/BangaloreRealEstates · accessed 2026-09-05 · Grade E

    Reported experience: This is a public first-person account, not an official document.

    Cited for: A purchaser reported observing construction that they believed differed from the plan they had seen, and expressed concern that this could affect the availability of an occupancy certificate.

    Where it stops: A Wayback retrieval attempt on 2026-09-05 was blocked by the research browser's URL-safety control; no snapshot is represented as captured. No author handle, builder/landowner details, property dimensions, unit configuration, floor number, or other property-identifying details are reproduced in this next step.